top of page

Tutti Fruity Shake

Updated: Aug 6, 2022


INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/3 cups water

  • 1 cup strawberries

  • 1 cup pineapple

  • 1 orange

  • 1 banana (frozen)

  • 1 lebanese cucumber

  • 1 cup ice cubes

DIRECTIONS

  1. Roughly chop all fruit and veg. Peel the orange.

  2. Place all ingredients except for the ice into a blender and blend until smooth.

  3. Add the ice and blend until very smooth.

RAW TIP:

  1. Add 1 cup of baby spinach to turn this into a Green Tutti Fruity. You can’t taste it over the delicious tropical fruits!

This recipe is featured in our Books.

A word from The Raw Food Girl

I still remember the first time I ever made a green smoothie. Vividly. I was 6 months pregnant with my third child, dog tired and already had a tummy the size of a small truck. Felt like I could do with a few extra nutrients so I thought I’d give it a whack. Into the blender went skim milk, yoghurt, banana, vanilla (clearly I didn’t read the memo about green smoothies being void of DAIRY), and to top it off I added a very large handful of silver beet. It was green. Tasted not great, but ok. I drank it. Twenty minutes later I got massive reflux (aka throat burning like acid) so started gorging on Chocolate Yogo, which during that particular pregnancy was my most staple food source. Smoothie = fail. These days I’m a little more strategic about what I put in my smoothies, especially when making them for my kids. Scare them with too much green and you’re unlikely to even get them to first base. The secret is to start very slow, using mostly fruit, and vegetables that can be hidden very easily. Cucumber and celery are my favourites, because they consist of mostly water and won’t colour the smoothie green. Once you’ve earn their trust, start backing off on the fruit (slooooooowly!) and adding more leafy green vegetables like spinach, kale and silverbeet. This is the stuff you really want them to eat, because it’s loaded with vitamins, minerals and alkalinity, which is super important for growing bodies. Also, name them fun things like Shrek Shake, The Hulk and Spearmint Thickshake to tantalise their willingness to try. These particular smoothies can be found in my eBook, The Raw Food Girl’s Smoothies. One last thing – skip on the dairy. I’m not saying you can never eat it if that’s your thing, just try substituting cows milk for almond milk. Or coconut water. Or even just plain old water. Dairy interferes with proper detoxification, it contains hormones and promotes animal cruelty.Plus, 3 out of 4 people are lactose intolerant to some degree. So there’s that. It’s very possible to create creamy smoothies without using dairy, by using frozen fruits or adding a few nuts or avocado.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page