top of page

Mega Choc Thickshake

Updated: Sep 22, 2022

A delicious drink free from dairy, refined sugars, and packed full of essential minerals too. Yes please!


INGREDIENTS


  • 1 1/2 frozen bananas, chopped

  • 1 cup almond milk

  • 1 1/2 Tbsp cacao powder

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

  • 1 cup ice cubes

DIRECTIONS Place all of the ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. Serve immediately TAMARAS' TIP: For a more creamy, exotic flavor, use coconut milk instead of almond milk.



This recipe is featured in our Books.


A Word from Tamara Lee

This is pretty much my go-to smoothie when I want something tasty and I want it NOW. And because one of my lifelong addictions is the Chocolate Thickshake at McDonalds, I needed to come up with a decent comparison that wasn’t totally loaded with saturated fat, refined sugar and a whole heap of random numbers At 415 calories for a medium size, the Maccas shake clocks over 20% of the daily recommended calorie intake for the day with very little nutritional value. My version contains only 190 calories per serve, contains a heap of nutrients (vitamin C, iron, potassium and calcium just to name a few) and will satisfy your cravings for longer than the Maccas one. Guaranteed. I actually find the almond milk + frozen banana + cacao combo to be way more delish than anything McDonalds offers on their menu. And what a versatile combo it is. Sometimes I pack in the spinach, kale, avocado and chia and it’s a decent breakfast. Occasionally, I top it with whipped coconut cream, cacao nibs and raw chokkie bits and it’s a heavenly dessert. Or leave out the almond milk and just whip up the bananas to make a Raw Banana Split. Tastes like soft serve and hits the spot every time. And sometimes, if I’m feeling a little desperate, I use it as a bribe to get my kids to finish their chores. This works well because they love it as much as I do – I just don’t tell them if I add kale!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page