top of page

Best Ever Chocolate Frappe

Best Ever Chocolate Frappe



INGREDIENTS


  • 3 cups ice cubes

  • 2/3 cup water

  • 1/4 cup raw almonds

  • 2 1/2 Tbsp cacao powder

  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup

  • 1/3 cup goji berries

  • 1/2 tsp vanilla bean powder

  • Cacao nibs and shredded coconut, to serve

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place all of the ingredients except for the ice, cacao nibs and shredded coconut into a high speed blender or food processor and blend until smooth.

  2. Add the ice and continue blending until very smooth. If you are using a regular blender, extra water may be required to get the mixture blending properly. Add 1 tablespoon at a time until the right consistency is achieved.

  3. Pour into a milkshake glass and top with cacao nibs and shredded coconut.

RAW TIP:

  1. For an extra creamy frappe, use coconut milk instead of water.

  2. You could also be really adventurous and top with whipped coconut cream – delish!


A word from The Raw Food Girl

I am so totally in love with this recipe. Like head over heels, drive me a little crazy, can’t stop thinking about it IN LOVE. A couple of years ago during my third pregnancy, I got really addicted to the Java Choc Chip Frappe at Muzz Buzz. It was pure bliss to my taste buds, but the dairy factor made me feel bloated and farty afterwards. Small price to pay, I reasoned (I wasn’t a health freak back then!) Then one day a friend from the gym told me she used to order it with water instead of milk, to cut out the dairy. I had never considered this – a frappe without milk? It sounded kind of gross. But I was game enough to try it. It actually tasted quite as amazing as the original because the sugar content was very much untouched. My friend rationalised that at least one of the 5 White Poisons had been eliminated, so she took that as a win. And I took note too. Literally. I started researching. Soon I discovered this Harvard Milk Study which claims that humans in fact have no nutritional need for animal milk. Human milk yes, but only as infants. We are the only species on the planet who drinks the milk of another species. Every other species weans and then never drinks milk again, and because of that they don’t have the enzyme lactase necessary to break down the sugar in milk (1). That’s why 75% of the adult human population are actually lactose intolerant – we no longer produce the enzyme that breaks lactose down (2). Because after weaning, we simply don’t need it. So I started reducing my dairy intake too. And what do you know? My sinuses cleared right up, I wasn’t so bloated anymore and I had a heap more energy. Definitely winning. Then there’s the horrendous treatment of factory farmed dairy cows, who are constantly impregnated, have their calves taken away from them, and are pumped full of antibiotics to offset their unsanitary living conditions (3). This just doesn’t sit with me at all, thus heralding my path towards a more vegan lifestyle. Going dairy free, I thought I would really miss my creamy desserts – but there are so many vegan ways to make them taste better than the original, I certainly don’t feel deprived!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page