top of page

Real Raw Stir Fry

Updated: Sep 22, 2022

So many pretty colours, so many different nutrients in this dish. Get it into you!




INGREDIENTS

For the rice:

  • 2/3 cauliflower

  • 1/4 tsp Himalayan pink salt

For the stir fry:

  • 2 sticks of celery

  • 2 carrots

  • 1/2 head broccoli

  • 1/3 large zucchini

  • 1/2 red capsicum

  • 1/2 green capsicum

  • 10 snow peas

  • 1 cup purple cabbage

  • 4 button mushrooms

  • 1/3 cup cashews OR pine nuts

For the sauce:

  • 1/3 cup cold pressed coconut oil, melted

  • Juice of 1 lemon

  • 1/4 cup fresh coriander

  • Generous pinch Himalayan pink salt

  • Small pinch of cayenne pepper

DIRECTIONS

  1. To make the rice, roughly chop the cauliflower. Place in a food processor with the salt and process until crumbly, so it resembles rice. Transfer to a large platter or serving bowl.

  2. To make the stir fry, cut all of the vegetables into long, thin strips (e.g. julienne style). Place them into a large bowl and add the cashews.

  3. Finely chop the coriander and mix all the dressing ingredients together in a separate bowl. Pour the dressing over the stir fry vegetables, stirring thoroughly so that all vegetables are well coated. Spoon the stir fry on top of 'rice' to serve.

TAMARAS' TIP

The coconut oil will start to solidify if the vegetables get too cold (like in the fridge). To prevent this from happening, pour dressing on only when you're ready to serve. If refrigeration is necessary, switch to olive oil instead.



A Word from Tamara Lee

A cold, crunchy 'stir fry' sounds a little random, yes? I agree. But I was determined to come up with a raw alternative to one of my old favourites and it actually really works RAW. In fact, I like it better. Admittedly, this would be a dish I would prefer in the summer. There's no warmth in this dish (besides the cayenne pepper), and I find it perfect for my dinner on a hot night. In colder weather however, I prefer warming foods in the evening which is why the 'eat Raw Till 4' philosophy suits my lifestyle perfectly. According to Traditional Chinese Medicine our bodies prefer warming foods in the winter, with the notion that the human body and health are associated with the environment, therefore changes in the weather can affect our body and our health. For example, in summer it is very hot and dry, which can cause the body to acquire heat and can dry out our body leading to dry skin, constipation and lack of fluid in the body. So eating more cooling food (i.e. fresh raw food), during warm weather can help balance the body during the summer months (1), and likewise consuming warming foods in winter can help balance the body too. So yeah, I may be a raw foodie but I still encourage including some cooked plant food in your diet too, especially if you have problems with digestion. Cruciferous vegetables like cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower, are more easily digested when lightly steamed (2) so don't be afraid to cook them up now and then - particularly when it's cold! As for me, I love eating raw all year round so to heat up my tummy before a raw meal I'll start with a warm organic herbal tea, which on their own contain plenty of health benefits like boosting antioxidants and lowering blood pressure. As for me, I love eating raw all year round so to heat up my tummy before a raw meal I'll start with a warm organic herbal tea, which on their own contain plenty of health benefits like boosting antioxidants and lowering blood pressure (3). Win-win! Share


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page