top of page

Modified Jennifer Anniston Salad



I'm completely obsessed with this recipe

A few weeks ago, I was googling ideas for what I could do with chickpeas. I have a whole lotta cans in food storage, and wanted to get my creative juices flowing.


I can across a recipe blog that talked about this salad that Jennifer Anniston had eaten every single day while on the film set of Friends. Chickpeas and quinoa were the star ingredients (which I have LOADS of around here!), so I decided to give it a go.


The original recipe has a bit too much oil for my personal liking, neither did it feature leafy greens. A few takes later and I'm super happy with the result - it's become one of my favourite lunches or side salads right now. And it's got my teenage daughter's tick of approval (so much that she's even taking it to school!).


 

MODIFIED JENNIFER ANNISTON RECIPE


  • 2 cups cooked quinoa

  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed

  • 1 cucumber, diced

  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced

  • 1/2 cup parsley, finely diced

  • 1/2 cup pistachios, chopped

  • OPTIONAL: 1/2 cup goats cheese, diced


DRESSING:

  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

  • Tiny pinch of sea salt

  • Tiny pinch of pepper

  1. To cook the quinoa, rinse the quinoa grains REALLY WELL. It's super important to rinse quinoa, otherwise you get that soapy after taste. I like to soak it the night before, which helps remove phytates and makes it more digestible. Put 1 cup of quinoa to 2 cups of water (you can add some salt or veggie broth for extra flavour) in a small saucepan, with the lid on, over medium heat. Bring to a boil, put the lid on, turn down the heat to low and cook until all the cooking liquid is absorbed. Let it rest while you are working on the rest of the ingredients.

  2. To make the salad dressing: Whisk together all ingredients until smooth.

  3. To assemble the salad: In a large salad bowl, place the cooked quinoa, cucumber, chickpeas, red onion, parsley, pistachios, and goats cheese (omit the goats cheese for a vegan salad). Drizzle with the salad dressing. Give it a gentle toss, and serve. It's DELICIOUS!



 

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page