top of page

Choc Almond Balls

Updated: Aug 6, 2022

A delicious twist to a traditional raw chocolate truffle… Made almost entirely of coconut!



INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups desiccated coconut

  • 1 cup almonds, roughly chopped

  • 1/3 cup raw honey

  • 1/3 cup cacao

  • 1 Tbsp water

  • Pinch sea salt

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place the coconut into a food processor and process until it turns into a sticky paste. It could take up to 10 minutes of processing on medium speed, scraping down the sides at regular intervals to make sure it’s mixed through properly.

  2. Add the honey, cacao, water and sea salt and continue processing until well mixed.

  3. Add the almonds stir through until they are evenly distributed.

  4. Shape mixture into balls and freeze or refrigerate.


This recipe is featured in The Raw Food Girl's Sweets & Treats eBook, along with 50 others nutritiously raw snacks.

A word from The Raw Food Girl

I do love making my raw chocolate truffles… Dates. walnuts and cacao, it’s a pretty delectable combo. And very more-ish. Sometimes though, my gut kind of reacts to the combination of fruits and nuts. Since the two are digested very differently, ideally they should not be eaten together. Effective food combining is a fascinating subject. This chart provides a great rundown of what foods should be eaten together and why. I highly recommend you check it out – living these principles have really helped me to plan and prepare grea meals that are gentle on my guts. To anyone that has a sensitive gut, eating certain food groups together can lead to rather unpleasant side affects. Pregnant-like bloating and nasty smelling wind, just to mention a few. Which no lady wants. Like, ever. I’ve been pregnant four times, each time with a gut the size of Mt Everest. I’d say I’ve definitely done my time! Switching out dates and adding coconut an help with the bloating issue, if you are sensitive to fructose – though is rather higher in fat, so don’t go too hard on them,I also like switching the almonds for any other type of nut, to add variety and flavour.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page